top of page

There are four parts to the seder. Each part focusses on a different type of fruit, and a shift and change in the cups of wine (or grape juice).
Assiyah (doing)—Here are fruits with hard outside shells, such as pomegranates, walnuts, almonds, coconuts, pine nuts, pistachios, hazelnuts, brazil nuts, pecans.
The wine is pure white
B. Y’tzirah (formation) – Here we taste fruit with a pit (that is, shell on the inside) such as olives, dates, cherries, persimmons, apricots, peaches, loquats, plums
The wine is white with a drop of red
C. Briyah (creation) – And here we sample fruit that is entirely edible (open on all levels), such as strawberries, figs, apples, raisins, grapes, carob, pears, mango, berries
The wine is half red, and half white
D. Atzilut (Court nobility, a higher place) – Lastly, in this section, we don’t eat anything.
The wine is all red.

bottom of page